
State of Ohio
Department of Natural Resources

DIVISION OF PARKS & WATERCRAFT
2045 Morse Road, Building A • Columbus, Ohio 43229

1-877-4BOATER (in Ohio only) • 614-265-6480 • 614-784-5987 (Fax)
watercraft.ohiodnr.gov

APPLICATION FOR OHIO WATERCRAFT DEALER LICENSE

CALENDAR YEAR

NEW

RENEWAL
Current watercraft dealer 
license number:

OH-                            -ZZ

Fees:     $50.00
$2.00

per calendar year for both new and renewal applications.
for each set of boat decals requested that are in addition to the 3 sets that 
come with the license. No more than 10 additional sets may be requested.

Application fee:

Additional sets of decals requested                    x $2.00

Total submitted (PAYABLE TO : ODNR DIVISION OF PARKS & WATERCRAFT)

$

=      $

$

50.00
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Use additional sheet(s) of paper if necessary.

List name, phone number, and title for each owner, partner, or officer of corporation.

Name Phone Number Title

Please print or type:

1.     Applicant Name Title

Business and/or DBA Name

DBA Street Address

City State Zip Code County

Mailing Street Address

City State Zip Code

Phone	    (                     )                      -

Fax	    (                     )                      -  

2.     Type of Watercraft/Marine Business (CHECK ONE)

3.     Type of Ownership (CHECK ONE)

Dealer

Sole Proprietor Partnership

Manufacturer

Corporation

Ext.

Email

Broker

New Vessel Sales Used Vessel Sales4.     Type of Business Sales (CHECK ALL THAT APPLY)

Internet Vessel Sales Out-of-State Vessel Sales

LLC Other (PLEASE SPECIFY)



5. Identification of business: Provide the following applicable documents to assist Ohio Division of Parks & Watercraft to  
    verify that you are an established place of business:

Attach a photograph of your company’s establishment, a copy of your declaration page from your Marine Owners/
Operators Legal Liability coverage (MOLL), provide your businesses website ______________________________, 
and legitimate documentation verifying an authentic place of business. 

6.	 Please provide the following required tax information. By providing the requested information, you are in agreement 
that your dealer profession is current and in compliance with the tax requirements set forth by the State of Ohio 
tax laws. If you have tax questions regarding the State of Ohio tax requirements, please direct them to the Ohio 
Department of Taxation at 1-888-405-4039.

A. Federal Tax Identification Number ___________________________________________

B. Ohio Vendor’s License Number _____________________________________________
By providing this information, you are confirming that your place of business is current with the filing and payments 
of taxes as required by the Ohio Department of Taxation.
Note: First-time applicants or current vendors with changes to business name and/or address must attach a copy of 
their vendor’s license. It must match the name and location used on this application. To apply for a vendor’s license, 
contact your local County Auditor’s office. Direct questions to the Ohio Department of Taxation at 1-888-405-4039.

C.	Usage Tax Account Identification Number ___________________________ Used for temporary use of 
Watercraft and other untaxed taxable purchases. Used for filing and paying taxes as required by the Ohio 
Department of Taxation. 

D. Out-of-State Applicants only: Ohio Sellers Use Tax Certificate Number _______________________________
First-time applicants must provide a copy of an Ohio Sellers Use Tax Certificate of Registration. Direct questions to 
the Ohio Department of Taxation at 1-888-405-4089.

E. Charter Number Issued by the Secretary of State (IF APPLICABLE) ____________________ State of ___________

F. Manufacturers only:
United States Coast Guard (USCG) Manufacturers Identification Code Number (MIC) ___________________
Also provide a letter on manufacturer’s letterhead, acknowledging applicant as a representative of manufacturer or 
a copy of the letter received by the USCG that assigned your number.

THE OHIO WATERCRAFT DEALER APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE OR VALID UNTIL YOU HAVE SIGNED THE 
APPLICATION IN THE PRESENCE OF A NOTARY.

7. Application Certification Statement (MUST BE SIGNED AND VERIFIED IN THE PRESENCE OF A NOTARY)

I hereby certify that I am a bona fide Watercraft Dealer as defined by the Ohio Revised Code 1547.543, who is 
regularly engaged in the business of manufacturing, selling, displaying, offering for sale, or dealing in vessels at an 
established place of business and that all the information provided is true to the best of my knowledge. I also certify 
that the tax information provided is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge. I also affirm I am following the Ohio 
Revised Code pertaining to the same.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT PRINTED NAME OF APPLICANT DATE

Sworn to before me and subscribed in my presence this              day of

,
MONTH YEAR

NOTARY PUBLIC

My commission expires
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OHIO WATERCRAFT DEALER LICENSE PROGRAM INFORMATION

Thank you for your interest in serving Ohio boaters. This information concerns the Watercraft Dealer License Program, 
proper use of the license, and highlights of the rules and regulations that govern the program.

Ohio Revised Code Section 1547.543 states: A bona fide watercraft dealer or manufacturer upon application to the Ohio  
Department of Natural Resources Division of Parks & Watercraft may purchase, for each separate place of business, a 
dealer license assigning a dealer number for use while operating watercraft on the waters of this state.

Ohio Revised Code Section 1547.01(B)(27) defines a “watercraft dealer” as any person who is regularly engaged in 
the business of manufacturing, selling, displaying, offering for sale, or dealing in vessels at an established place 
of business. “Watercraft dealer” does not include a person who is a marine salvage dealer or other person who 
dismantles, salvages, or rebuilds vessels using used parts. 

The fee for an Ohio Watercraft Dealer License is $50. The license expires the last day of December of each year. The fee 
includes:

1.  A permanently assigned Ohio watercraft dealer license number.
2.  A wall certificate in your name, or the name of your business, and address to display in your place of business.
3.  Three (3) sets of validation decals to temporarily display on watercraft being operated in accordance with the law.
4.  Three (3) pocket-size certificates. One certificate must be carried aboard the watercraft when it is in operation.

The certificate of number and validation decals must be temporarily displayed on the outside of the front half of the watercraft 
when it is in operation and in a way that is CLEARLY VISIBLE to other boaters from both sides (port and starboard) of the 
watercraft. We suggest that you attach the numbers and the validation decals to plaques that can be temporarily affixed to 
windows or rails on the front half of the watercraft.

You must comply with the law at all times to avoid criminal penalty, suspension, or restriction in any way. Ohio Revised Code 
Section 1547.543 states in part:

The dealer’s license/number are only valid on waters in Ohio. The dealer license number shall not be used for 
any commercial purpose such as the rental or chartering of watercraft. The dealer license number shall not be 
loaned to any person for the purpose of circumventing any law of this state. The dealer license number shall not be 
transferred to anyone and must be removed from the watercraft when that watercraft changes ownership or is used for 
purposes other than those permitted by the dealer license provisions.
When the watercraft changes ownership, the new owner must obtain a permanent certificate of number for the 
watercraft in his or her name. The new permanent certificate of number will then be the permanent number for that 
watercraft and must be displayed on the forward half of the watercraft on both sides.

Effective April 1, 1990: Dealers licensed with the ODNR Division of Parks & Watercraft, in accordance with the Ohio 
Revised Code Section 1547.543, may be able to obtain trade-in credit on sales tax. USE YOUR ASSIGNED WATERCRAFT 
DEALER  NUMBER WHEN TRANSACTING TITLE BUSINESS WITH THE COUNTY CLERK OF COURTS. All questions 
regarding  taxation should be directed to the Ohio Department of Taxation; businesses located within Ohio may call 1-888-
405-4039; businesses outside Ohio may call 1-888-405-4089.

All applicants must provide proof of taxes paid on all vessel sales and usage. Direct questions to the Ohio Department of 
Taxation at 1-888-405-4089.

Note:  ANY seller of a watercraft requiring a title must supply the buyer of that watercraft a title issued in the buyer’s 
name within 30 days of the sale (Refer to the Ohio Revised Code Sections 1548.03, 1548.06, etc.).

Questions regarding the Ohio Watercraft Dealers License Program can be directed to the program
coordinator toll free at 1-877-4BOATER (in Ohio only) or 614-265-6569.
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